Seeing Somewhat Smarter

I love my eyes, but I’m learning to love them better.

You could argue that there are higher demands placed on our visual literacy today than at any other point in history. So as the sun sets on 2008, how smart do you see?

1. Colour IQ

colour-iq

When I took the x-rite colour IQ test a few months ago I scored a 7. Although I’m no designer I can see that’s not award-winning. But it’s a start, eh?

Take the test yourself to see how your eyes stack up.

2. Colour Matching

flickr-by-colour

This year Idée Labs developed Multicolr searches for Flickr and Alamy.

The screengrab above is from a search I did a few days ago. I’m working on a Brazilian NYE set for the Jungle Drums party and wanted some content ideas to fit the palette. It’s a great test for your matching instincts.

Try a Multicolr Flickr search.

3. Musical Visual IQ

music-visual-iq

So far so static. But I mix live visuals, and I need to know my eyes got rhythm.

The phrase Associative Visual Musical Intelligence was a new one to me before I found this test on Current. AMVI is a condition of synaesthesia. Call a doctor!

Or just take the test. (I did a bit better on this one. Phew.)

4. Research

speechless-1

This is a scan from David A. Beronä’s Wordless Books – a magnificent xmas present from Audrey Q.

I’m getting deeper into old graphic forms. Looking at woodcut novels, where individual panels were as small as 3.5 x 2.5 inches, truly sharpens the focus (sorry to mix the metric but 1/2 looked whack).

Throw the laptop to one side and think pre-digital. And get this book while you’re at it – another present that keeps giving.

5. Pencil and paper

guiness2

I got big lucky with presents this year. My brother bought me The Advertising Concept Book by Pete Barry (scan above).

I know it’s something Creative Directors say so much it can prick. But it’s true. Start with a sharp pencil and paper.

Pete Barry’s book of scamps is such a pleasure. Reminded me what it’s all about. Great visual ideas express themselves in the simplest of ways.

You can call me stupid, but I’m off to do some drawing.

No comments yet

Leave a comment